ATC Board of Directors

The Alexandria Transit Company is a non-profit corporation organized under Chapter 1, Title 13.1 of the Code of Virginia, for the purpose of providing mass transportation services as a public service corporation. The entire capital stock of the corporation – seven shares at a par value of $1.00 a share – is owned by the City of Alexandria.

ATC is governed by a nine member Board elected annually by the Alexandria City Council, acting in the capacity of the sole stockholders.

  • David H. Kaplan, Chairman
  • Kerry Donley, Vice Chairman
  • Yon Lambert, Vice President*
  • Ian Greaves*
  • Matt Harris
  • James 'Jim' Kapsis
  • Stephen Klejst
  • Richard Lawrence*
  • Meredith MacNab

*Denotes individual is an employee of the City of Alexandria and serves in the capacity indicated without compensation.


Members of the Board of Directors serve without compensation. Regular monthly Board meetings are held the second Wednesday of every month at Alexandria’s City Hall, 301 King Street, City Council Workroom on the second floor, at 5:30 p.m., unless otherwise posted.

ATC operates under the direction of its Chief Executive Officer and General Manager, Josh Baker. Mr. Baker is the principal staff advisor to the Board on transit matters.

Comments to the ATC Board of Directors may be submitted to the ATC Board Secretary, Fatima Ahmed, at or by writing to: ATC General Manager, 3000 Business Center Drive, Alexandria, VA 22314.

ATC Board of Directors Meeting Dates

Regular public meetings are held the second Wednesday of every month.

Alexandria’s City Hall, 301 King Street City Council Workroom 2410 5:30 p.m.

There are no meetings held in July and August.

Learn more