

June 9, 2020 at 6:00pm

Due to the ongoing State of Emergency resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic, the meeting was held online via Zoom and available on government access Channel 70.

Alexandria Transit Company Stockholder Members in Attendance: Mayor Justin Wilson, Vice Mayor Elizabeth Bennett-Parker, Councilman Canek Aguirre, Councilwoman Amy B. Jackson, Councilman Mohamed E. "Mo" Seifeldein.

Alexandria Transit Company Members in Attendance: Chairman David Kaplan, Board Member Jeffrey Bennett, CEO and General Manager Joshua Baker

The ATC Stockholder's Meeting was called to order at 6:05pm by Chairman David Kaplan. The purpose of the meeting being to consider the two nominees proposed by the ATC Board Members and consider approval of their appointment to the ATC Board of Directors.

Prior to the meeting, ATC Board Chairman David Kaplan provided the following memorandum to the City Council:

MEMORANDUM:

For the Honorable Mayor and Members of City Council from Chairman David Kaplan.

There are currently 10 members of the ATC Board of Directors, the Board Search Committee has recommended to the ATC Board the addition of two new members, further current Member Kerry Donley is stepping down after dutifully serving the Board.

At their May 27, 2020 Board Meeting, the current ATC Board voted unanimously to endorse the recommended new members from the search committee.

Applications, resumes, and a brief summary from the committee chair are included for your review. Personal identifying information from their applications has been redacted for the privacy of the candidates.

Therefore, the ATC Board of Directors presents the following nominees for consideration of appointment. The term served will be for the remainder of a one-year term which expires upon the Annual Meeting in February 2021 in accordance with the By-Laws of the Corporation.

- Linda Bailey
- Ajashu Thomas

The Chairman referenced the February 2020 ATC Stockholder's Meeting, when Council voted to temporarily increase the size of the Board by two civilian members, in order to create a more diverse body that represented a larger portion of the community.

In order to recruit members, the Board utilized a combination of social media, word of mouth and physical postings at stops. To make the process easier to complete, the application was posted online, and open for five weeks.

The Board ultimately received nine applications. In order to streamline the process, a threemember Selection Committee was formed to recommend candidates to the Board at their May meeting. The Committee consisted of Jeff Bennett, Hillary Orr and Jim Kapsis.

The Chair of the Board Selection Committee, Jeff Bennett, was recognized at 6:08pm to outline the selection process. He said that the Committee was very pleased with diverse and extremely qualified candidate pool. The Committee narrowed down the candidates to five who were interviewed, and two were recommended to the Board as potential nominees.

Mr. Bennett said the first candidate, Ajashu Thomas would bring a fresh perspective to the Board, thanks to her extensive community outreach experience, and service on a transit-related Presidential Commission. The second candidate, Linda Bailey, was chosen because of her multi-modal transportation expertise, which would be an asset to the Board.

At 6:09pm, Mayor Wilson made a motion to approve the candidates, which was seconded by Vice-Mayor Bennett-Parker. Canek Aguirre recused himself from the vote because of a conflict of interest, stating that Ajashu Thomas is his wife. A vote was called with all others voting "aye", no dissentions or abstentions. The motion passed.

The Chairman thanked the Stockholders for their continued support as Council Members. Hearing no further business, the Chair asked a motion to adjourn the meeting.

At 6:10pm, Mayor Wilson made a motion to adjourn, which was seconded by Vice-Mayor Bennett-Parker. The motion passed unanimously.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:11pm.

Minutes by: Kelly McGarey, Secretary of the Board