Board of Directors

The Alexandria Transit Company is a non-profit corporation organized under Chapter 1, Title 13.1 of the Code of Virginia, for the purpose of providing mass transportation services as a public service corporation. The entire capital stock of the corporation – seven shares at a par value of $1.00 a share – is owned by the City of Alexandria.

ATC is governed by a Board of Directors elected annually by the Alexandria City Council, acting in the capacity of the sole stockholders.

Board Members serve without compensation. Regular monthly Board meetings are held the second Wednesday of every month at Alexandria’s City Hall, 301 King Street, City Council Workroom on the second floor, at 5:30 p.m., unless otherwise posted.

ATC operates under the direction of its Chief Executive Officer and General Manager, Josh Baker. Mr. Baker is the principal staff advisor to the Board on transit matters.

*Denotes individual is an employee of the City of Alexandria and serves in the capacity indicated without compensation.

To view the Board’s policies on public comment click here.


Meet the board of directors

David Kaplan
Stephen Klejst
Vice Chairperson
Hillary Orr*
T&ES Appointee
Arish Gajjar
Board Member
Matt Harris
Board Member
Praveen Kathpal
Board Member
Jesse O'Connell
Board Member
Kursten Phelps
Board Member
Kendel Taylor*
Board Member
Ajashu Thomas
Board Member
Arthur Wicks
Board Member
Documentation for all meetings from 2017 to present can be found in the list below. Documentation from previous years is available by submitting a request to the Board Secretary.